What is Neotarf?

Double Neotarf1Neotarf is a pen name I use on Wikimedia and Wikipedia-related places on the internet.

Al-tarf is the brightest star in the crab constellation. “Tarf” means eye, and “neo” of course means new. The expression comes from an editor I used to work with who would ask for someone to proofread by saying  “new eyes”. I consider myself to be a Wiki-Gnome, someone who makes small, incremental changes without clamoring for attention.

I have written 11 articles on the English Wikipedia, mostly biographies.  The first one was for human rights activist Susana Trimarco.  The most off-beat topic I have written about was probably El Koshary Today, an Egyptian political satire website. I have also contributed to a number of other articles, mostly about human rights, as well as pitching in at some of the less glamorous but necessary backrooms of Wikipedia, Move Requests and Reliable Sources, which has given me some perspective on the inner workings of the place.

During the 2013 arbitration cycle, I followed the English Wikipedia’s Arbitration Committee, and wrote a regular feature for the the English Wikipedia Signpost called the Arbitration Report.  The one I learned the most from writing was Infoboxes: After the War.  An index of the Arbitration Report articles can be found here.

I also wrote the “News and Notes” feature for the August 13, 2014 issue of the Signpost, titled “Media Viewer controversy spreads to German Wikipedia“.

This web page was originally used for hosting files that I wanted to link to on English Wikipedia. Gradually it evolved to a place to keep notes and extended comments about Wikipedia issues.   The topic of editor retention particularly interests me.  Most recently I have started making transcripts of Wikipedia-related audio files that are not available elsewhere and posting them here.

Currently, I can be found on Wikimedia Meta.

My Wikimedia email address is Neotarf(AT)gmail(DOT)com

[Image credit: Kitab al-Bulhan, late 14th c. Arabic manuscript]

Leave a Reply

